Life, Unexpected

Life sometimes catches you completely unawares.

Cancer Sucks

At the beginning of last year my dad was diagnosed with in operable pancreatic cancer. It devastated our family and shook me to the core. After several rounds of chemo, which made him incredibly sick and weak, we learned that the tumor had shrunk enough that surgery was now possible. Right before the surgery my dad’s strength rallied and he felt better than he had in a long time. We took a trip to a Detroit Tigers baseball game with Mini Me since growing up my dad and I always went to games.

Tigers_007

He had his surgery in June and it was a success. However, he had some serious trouble with recovery and was not able to have anymore chemo after the surgery. He had finally started to feel a bit better and my parents took a trip to Las Vegas in February which I was so happy to hear. He was up and about and spending time with us at Easter.

IMG_8476

Well, shortly after that my dad started to feel bad again. More pain, more weakness, more fatigue. The dreaded worry that the cancer might be back began to creep in.

Last week it was confirmed. My dad’s cancer is back. It has spread to his stomach as well as his pancreas. This time there is no cure. If he does nothing it will be two to four weeks before he can no longer leave his bed. He has opted for some more chemo, a pill and two infusions. At the best we can hope for three to six months.

I’ve been quiet because I have been dealing with this bombshell. I’m going to lose my dad and I’m not okay with that.

2 comments on “Cancer Sucks

  1. Frenchie in Canada
    May 19, 2016

    I’m so sorry to hear you and your family are going through such a hard thing. It’s not much comfort but I will keep you all in my thoughts. Big virtual hugs

    • Heather
      May 20, 2016

      Thanks. I appreciate it though.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 19, 2016 by in Family Life and tagged , .

Past Ramblings

May 2016
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories