Life, Unexpected

Life sometimes catches you completely unawares.

One Last Fishing Trip

Every summer before my dad was diagnosed with cancer he would take Mini Me to a state park nearby for a fishing trip. I think he started doing this when she was about three. Fishing trips with grandpa soon became one of the highlights of Mini Me’s summer break and their trips by boat to their secret island.

Last summer my dad had his surgery and wasn’t able to take her. We had high hopes that this summer would have a fishing trip complete with a trip to the secret island. Unfortunately, dad’s health is not good enough. He continues to grow weaker and more depressed. My mom has been strongly encouraging a smaller, more manageable fishing trip for my dad and the grand-kids for the last month or so. Yesterday we were finally able to get him to do it.

Image-1I had to work so my parents picked up Mini Me and Little Man later in the afternoon from the sitter’s. They went to Subway to get subs for a picnic and drove over to the lake.

Putting a boat in the water was too much but there was a picnic table near the dock by the boat launch and that was where they settled in to fish. I know that my mom was skeptical about how fishing off the dock would work out but no one really cared. The whole point was getting dad out for one last fishing trip with Mini Me.

It turned out someone was smiling down on them and the fish were biting like crazy. The kids really enjoyed themselves and caught lots of fish that they released back. Including a good sized bass that scared Little Man when he hooked it. Lots of memories were made and I was so happy we were able to have this one last outing.

IMG_8636After I got out of work I drove over to the lake and joined them for the last little bit of fishing and our picnic dinner. Mini Me was very proud to show me her fishing skills and was especially proud of herself when she took her first fish off the hook all on her own.

While Mini Me didn’t get a solo fishing trip with grandpa they still got some time together. I remember when she was born my dad was so happy she was a girl because he said he had his baby girl again. They have always had a special bond, not unlike the one I have shared with my dad my whole life. I realize how blessed we both are to have had such a man in our lives. There were no dry eyes in our car as we drove away last evening as we realized the precious gift it was to have this one last fishing trip.

2 comments on “One Last Fishing Trip

  1. Frenchie in Canada
    June 29, 2016

    Well, I don’t think anyone will have dry eyes reading this either…
    I’m so glad your mum and you managed to get him out for a smaller but precious last trip. Great memories for your daughter

    • Heather
      July 2, 2016

      I was very glad too. It was worth it.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 29, 2016 by in Family Life, Little Man, Mini Me and tagged , , , , .

Past Ramblings

June 2016
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories