Life, Unexpected

Life sometimes catches you completely unawares.

*uck Cancer

Forgive me, I don’t often resort to profanity but tonight I am.

My dad saw his oncologist today. It was not good. The cancer that had spread from his pancreas to his stomach is now allowing bodily fluids to enter his stomach and making him bloated and robbed him even of the simple pleasure of enjoying a meal. Most likely its now every where in his abdominal cavity. The pain is rampant. The nausea and vomiting overpowering. Cancer is not pretty. Its not glamorous. It is ugly and disgusting.

The doctor is turning over my dad’s care to Hospice now. They should be contacting my mom in the next 24 hours. I’ll go out there when they meet with them.

I am numb.

I had just pulled into the Little Man’s soccer practice and Mini Me was in the car when my mom called me with the news. I swallowed my emotions because of where I was and now I can’t feel them anymore.

Shit.

So, I will do my best not to dwell on the last year and a half of his life that was filled with chemo and surgery and sickness and pain and suffering but rather on the countless memories I have. Of him being a great and present father to me.

img_2479

And being “Bompa” to my kids.

We managed to get a couple last good excursions and memories together. I just wish I had taken more pictures.

6 comments on “*uck Cancer

  1. Frenchie in Canada
    September 22, 2016

    I am so sorry you and your family are going through this. I wish there was something I could do, short of sending you all a big virtual hug. Use all the profanity you need, it’s now or never 😉

  2. notewords
    September 22, 2016

    All my sympathies. Please try and take care of yourself through this time. My thoughts and prayers are with you. If swearing helps – SWEAR.

    • Heather
      September 23, 2016

      Thank you. I worry a lot about my mom taking care of herself too as she is his primary care giver and afraid to leave him alone. Hopefully, Hospice can help her get some time away.

      • notewords
        September 23, 2016

        Oh yes. Everyone needs some time away, but so often feel guilty. Hospice can be wonderful. They were a great help when my father was very ill.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 21, 2016 by in Family Life, Personal and tagged , , , .

Past Ramblings

September 2016
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Categories